Pett’s first taste of professional tour proves a successful one

Louie Pett celebrates his Howitt Bowl win prior to his first appearance on the Jamega Tour.
Louie Pett celebrates his Howitt Bowl win prior to his first appearance on the Jamega Tour.

The Warwickshire’s Louie Pett followed up his fourth title of the season with an impressive performance in his first appearance in a professional event.

The 20-year-old claimed the Howitt Bowl at North Warwickshire Golf Club to add to his success in the Finham Bowl, Warwickshire Championships and Ladbroke Park Open.

Pett, who plays off +1, then took part in The Warwickshire-hosted Jamega Tour event where he finished as leading amateur.

The county player ended the two days on five-under to finish tied for sixth, earning himself a free pass to play on any other Jamega Tour event.

Coached by Adam Gray at Stratford Oaks GC, Pett is looking to turn professional within the next two years.

Kenilworth’s Rory Kirwan was tied for 33rd after bouncing back from an opening round 78 to card a 69.

The event was won by Brocket Hall who finished on 12-under.

Meanwhile, Warwick Golf Club’s annual AM-AM team competition attracted 11 teams for the four-man competition where visiting golfers are invited to team up with home club members.

The winning team comprised Warwick members Jason Jerman and Paul Stallard with father and son pair Nigel and Alan Pilkington.

Nigel is from Leamington & County Golf Club while his son Alan is a member of Oulton Hall Golf Club.

The quartet produced a new Warwick course record for this format of 109.

Their nearest challengers were the team of Warwick member Graham Harrington and his guests Chis Bagshaw and Phil Halford (both from Leamington & County Golf Club), along with Adrian Hume from Coventry Golf Club, who scored 114.

Stoneleigh Deer Park: Men’s Stableford: Division One: 1, Dave Rutley (37pts); 2, Simon Roberts (36pts, on countback); 3, Guy Sullivan (36pts). Division Two: 1, Martyn Howard (40pts); 2, Julian Box (39pts, on countback); 3, Mick Brown (39pts). Division Three: 1, Chris Vogiaridis (38pts); 2, Tony Williamson (34pts, on countback); 3, Chris McHale (34pts).

Ladies’ Section: Nancy Clarke Cup: 1, Kully Wain (39pts); 2, Shirley Proctor (37pts); 3, Linda Johnson (36pts, on countback); 4, Margaret Whitehead (36pts); 5, Jenny Arnold (33pts, on countback); 6, Nicky Woodhouse (33pts). Nearest the Pin: 9th and 15th: Shirley Proctor. 11th Margaret Whitehead.